Central Arizona College Selected to Join Achieving the Dream National Network

by Angela Askey, Executive Director, Public Relations and Marketing, Central Arizona College

Central Arizona College is one of five colleges across the country that has strengthened its commitment to improving student success by becoming part of the Achieving the Dream (ATD) National Network.

CAC President Dr. Jackie Elliott said, “We are honored to have been chosen for the 2020 Achieving the Dream cohort.”

A team of CAC staff recently attended the Virtual Kickoff Institute, setting the stage for the college’s work as an ATD Network institution. CAC will continue work on Guided Pathways and the implementation of nine areas of interest that provide a direct path of achievement for students. Work will focus on aligning policies, with student success and equity being at the forefront of every decision.

“Transformational change is difficult under normal circumstances, and it’s particularly pronounced during such a challenging time,” said Dr. Karen A. Stout, president and CEO of Achieving the Dream. “We are encouraged by the commitment of these five institutions who have shown that student success is at the core of their work.

“We look forward to working with these colleges on building their capacity for change over the next three years, and we are excited to welcome them to the Network this summer.”

Achieving the Dream leads a growing network of 277 community colleges committed to helping students, particularly low-income students and students of color, achieve their goals for academic success, personal growth and economic opportunity. ATD is making progress in closing academic achievement gaps and accelerating student success through a unique change process that builds each college’s institutional capacities in seven essential areas.

ATD, along with 75 experienced coaches and advisers, works closely with network colleges in 44 states and the District of Columbia.

The Achieving the Dream 2020 Cohort includes:

  • Central Arizona College
  • Compton College (California)
  • Milwaukee Area Technical College (Wisconsin)
  • Northwest State Community College (Ohio)
  • Wake Technical Community College (North Carolina)

Photo: Greg Mastorakos